Charming converted church, Elmstead
As with many ancient country churches, the original parish church of St Anne and St Lawrence was situated over a mile from the main village. In 1905 it was decided that another church should be built in the centre of the parish and fundraising began. The Lord of the Manor of Wivenhoe Park donated a plot of land in School Road and a contribution of £100 towards the new church building! After some debate it was settled that a red brick structure was preferred that should accommodate up to 200 people. By 1907 the nave was built by H Everitt and Sons and in 1927 funds allowed the chancel to be built by Strutton of Rowhedge.
The church was well attended throughout its existence, being better sited for those living at Elmstead Heath, with electricity being installed in 1931 replacing oil lamps. By the 1970’s attendances had dwindled and it was quite obvious that the parish could no longer support three churches, there also being a Methodist church. The bell from the church was removed and sent to a church in Nigeria. St Paul’s was advertised for sale in 1981 and sold in the same year. In becoming a private house, the nave was converted into a swimming pool and a gallery built around the upper walls for a kitchen, bedrooms and lounge.
The proceeds from the sale went towards the construction of “cloisters” on the north side of the original parish church.
If you’re interested in this rare opportunity to buy a substantial, converted church with a lot of character visit www.fennwright.co.uk to find out more or contact Fenn Wright Signature on 01206 507 607.